OC & Modding Best CPU Cooler for i7 ?

xplodee

Disciple
Hello people, :tongue:

Its my very first post on Techenclave as referred by Salman.

I need to ask you people that which CPU cooler is best for i7 920.. ?

actually i want to confirm it from you experienced guys :)
i am totally new to i7 as its just some 20 days old (I can say Brand New:hap2:):eek:hyeah:
So please tell me the best CPU cooler in range from 3k to 4k.
i can invest more then this but ONLY if its 101% sure about superb performance :p :clap:

My PC specifications :

• Processor = i7 920
• Mobo = MSI x58 Pro-E
• RAM = 4Gb G-Skill Ripjaws (1333Mhz)
• HDD = 1Tb Seagate
• GPU = ATI Radeon 5770 (Sapphire)
• SMPS = 600W Cooler Master
I have had heard that msi boards are some more hot than other boards:(. So please keep that in mind and do suggest me a BEST CPU COOLER (Air / Water).
Regards,
Sumit

Well, it actually depends.. you want performance (Cooling over noise), silent machine (silence over performance), Balanced performance (Cooling = Noise) or best VFM...

Best VFM : Cooler Master Hyper 212 Plus ( 2 Fans ) Rs. 2,000 + Rs. 650 for 120 mm 2,000 rpm fan..

Best Performance : Prolimatech Megahalem ( Not sure but above 3,000 )

Best performance + Noise : Cogage TRUE Spirit

OMG its xplodee! XD
Firstly, Welcome to TE :) . Despite the fact that replies might be a bit slower here, you've made the right choice.

Now, are you willing to get your cooler via US/Newegg/KMD(KMD is a dealer here who will get you stuff from the US for a premium)?
I ask this because a few coolers out there may not be available locally.

Now for recommendations, the Prolimatech Megahalems are your best bet if performance is what you are after.
If these exceed your budget and you want something that performs reasonably well, get the Xigmatek Dark Knight. I'd rate this cooler above TX3/Hyper 212 and AC Freezer 7 pro rev. 2 which are your other choices if on a budget. Both/all of the above are/should be available locally.