best java and vb book

infokiosk

Disciple
i'm familiar wid c++, so i've some oop concepts in my mind. now i need 2 do java, so which is the best hardcover/e-book for a complete newbie 2 java?
and mention some for VB(not dot net) tooo.

For Java, you could use Complete Reference - Java 2 By Patrick Naughton and Herbert Schildt (TMH publications)

For Visual Basic 6.0, you could use VB 6.0 by Julia Case Bradlee(TMH) and Visual Basic 6.0 Black Book(Dont remember the author name or publication, will post later with the same.)

Hope this helps;)

Try these for Java
1. Thinking in Java by Bruce Eckel - you can download a free electronic copy from www.mindview.net Good book, covers lot of stuff wrt Java language & SDK.
2. Head First Java by Oreilly publications - really neat book for newbies. The way they go about explaining stuff is really too good.

For Visual Basic, Get yourself Mastering VB6 by Evangelos Petroutsous .. Visual Basic SuperBible by Waite group is another ...
For VB6 Db programming , get Database Programming with VB6 by Evangelos Petrotsous ..
And if you can find get yourself a book called Hands On Visual Basic 6 .. Its the best book for a beginner ....

For Java -> Java 2 Complete Reference by Patrick Naughton and Herbert Schildt
For Visual Basic -> Mastering VB6 by Evangelos Petroutsos

thanks ppl
still i'm really new 2 java so just one more ediotic question 4 java wht do i need to download and/or install like a compiler or what, which SDK, links invited, and ya is java and java2 d same?

You need the latest Java SDK - you can download the same from http://java.sun.com. You will also find the SDK related documentation and much more related stuff there.
Java2D != Java. Java2D is a part of the Java SDK - you can use that library to do cool 2d based animation and stuff like that.

don't read dis if u don't have spare time... coz i need a lot of help... i mean it...
now i'm really very new to java, so i want to get some things done clear...