book on c++

shivam99aa

Disciple
i am pursuing btech.i got c in my sem and i am from computer science so i want to learn it in deep.i studied yashwant kanitkar but i am not satisfied by the book it seems to be useless .can anybody suggest me a book which can enhance my knowledge and help me in writing programs.tell me a book of use.

For Beginner to intermediate, refer "Thinking in C++", if you know C, this book will give you a problem and the walkthrough in the solution given by C++ over C.

Or may be some other already posted in the links mentioned. I can not comment on other's suggestion as I have not discussed the topic with them but I believe you can trust books mentioned by harakari.

Want some advance text? try Stanley B. Lippman (worked with Bjarne Stroustrup @ Bell Labs), or The c++ programming language.

More advance and specific to actual use cases: Try Exceptional C++ (and perhaps more exceptional C++ <- not read this but should be good considering the Ist part )

dud i will suggest you three books.....1.E.Balaguruswamy,2.ansi c++,3.BYRON S GOTTFRIED....
it will be helpfull to u among these three books...

even i would suggest yashwant kanetkar and e.balaguruswamy. they have helped me a lot.

--- Updated Post - Automerged ---

G.S Baluja is good too..

--- Updated Post - Automerged ---

G.S Baluja is good too..

shivam99aa said:
i am pursuing btech.i got c in my sem and i am from computer science so i want to learn it in deep.i studied yashwant kanitkar but i am not satisfied by the book it seems to be useless .can anybody suggest me a book which can enhance my knowledge and help me in writing programs.tell me a book of use.
Book Reviews - C and C++ Books and References - Cprogramming.com

Read these ebooks.

Indian books will take you....nowhere

Read E Balagurusamy to get up with the basics, then write small programs using STL, etc. in C++.

Reference for every thing (ANSI C++) available at cplusplus.com

That's how I learnt and am still learning.