Deciding between 2 laptops

abhayvir

Recruit
hi everyone,

I am planning to buy a new notebook. I have zeroed down my choice to these 2:

Dell Studio 15- Core i5-530M, 4GB RAM, 1GB ATi Mobility Radeon HD 5470, 500GB HDD, 15.6" full HD WLED screen. @ Rs. 51,589/- (Dell website price)

Acer 5740G- Core i3-330M, 4GB RAM, 320GB HDD, 512MB ATi Mobility Radeon HD 5470, 15.6" BkLit screen. @ Rs.40,999/- (e-bay price)

Q#1- I know Acer service is pathetic, but I've been using Acer for last 5 years and love the machines, so is it wise to change to Dell?

Q#2- Is the Acer 5740G available with Core-i5? Because at Triffin Technologies (Acer Mall,Nehru Place, New Delhi), the people know nothing about this model except the price which is Rs.39,500/-

Q#3- Finally do you guys think its better to save 11k for Acer or will the extra money put in Dell prove to be a good investment,because I don't change my computer for long time (min 2-3 yrs).

P.S.--My budget is 50k max so feel free to suggest any other Brand/Model that deserves a second look- My third choice was Acer Aspire 5542g @ around 31k, is it worth buying?

Main Requirement from Laptop- Casual Gaming, Extensive 2D designing (PS, AI, Dreamweaver, CorelDraw etc), Average 3D modeling & Rendering and very rare movie watching.

Thanks

go for Acer and try to extend warranty for 3 yrs !!! woohhh.

Dell lap is assembled in tamil nadu and is not upto the mark as compared to same in US, so its not highly recommended, !!!

I have a dell XPS studio and its an excellent machine.

Even though its manufactured in TN it does give prompt delivery(mine in a week) and their service is also good.

Since you already said u dont change lappies frequently, service is important for u.(Acer suz big time). So u can go for studio 15, which has positive reviews.

amd999 said:
Dell lap is assembled in tamil nadu and is not upto the mark as compared to same in US, so its not highly recommended, !!!

Ever heard of Quality Control (QC) ?