HELP: Choosing right programming language

jobinjv

Disciple
During college days our batch collected data of all in the same batch and wanted to build a database. While the database should contain permanent datas like names, dob, fav things n stuff. There should be a coloumn where present contacts can be added.

Could someone help me decide which language i could use so that i can achieve. If any have played Football manager, i was looking at something like that. I believe that uses XML. But what should i use as database.

The main thing of all i have no depth knowledge in any programming but being a computer graduate jus know the basic.

Pls help.

xml aint no programming language. So that is ruled out, you could use it to persisit the data you mentioned along with the metadata. In your case though i dont see any obvious usage of XML. So i'd reckon you stick to traditional DB design methods and use a prog lang like c#/java that u're familiar with.

With C# if u'r using the VS ide u'll have da datasets ready and much of coding effort will be saved.

Thanks for that quick reply. Since i moved on to Networking i have never looked at programming , So is it easy to do being a noob in programming.

Some go to learn some for a degree;) I was never too mush into programmin did it jus to clear.

Nehow lookin at some JSP tutorials..

do you use MS Office ?
;)
Maybe give MS-Access a Try, and then use ASp.Net. (Visual Studio Express editions are free download from Microsoft.)
it shouldnt take lot of time if u know atleast some programming.
just drag-drops.

shotgun said:
do you use MS Office ?
;)

How demeaning!! :p

Anyhow its not that i donno anythin. Got basic in VB, Java, C++ n all. But took to Cisco and left all the programming.

But now felt like completing the project started in college.

lol ...
didnt mean offence..
if you already know the basics of programming, use ASP.Net, write minimal code, and you are all set.