help needed in a c program :)

I have thought hard to find a proper logic to find largest and least of a given set of numbers in C language.I know it is easy to find when only 2 or even 3 are given, but using if...else or else if ladder becomes confusing when more than 3 numbers are given.Is there a better way to do it? Guys please dont mock at me for asking such a noobish question.I'm just starting to learn C and im new to thinking about problems in this manner.Any help here would be great. TIA :)

EDIT : I want it without using arrays

Do you know data structure?? Just put the numbers in an array, now simply sort them(using any techniques), and simply the array will be sorted in ascending or descending order, now it became that simple to say which one is the greatest. If ascending, then the last cell of the array and if descending then the first cell of the array :)

But learn data structure first(if you don't know it already)

Happy Coding. :)

EDIT: Ahh you should have mentioned that first, without using an array, it would be complex, as you need to check each number in nested if-else

Though it makes no sense to not to use an array, no one is bothered about how are you storing it. You are free to use any approach which seems simpler for you. So why wouldn't you like to use the great feature??

If you don't want to use an array, how exactly do you plan to store the numbers? Is it going to be something like command line input where the user keeps entering a set of numbers and then you give the min and max of that set? Either case, the logic is that you have two place holders - one each for the min and max - and compare each number against the min and the max. If the number is greater than the current max, it is the new max. Likewise for the min. When you encounter the first number, the min and max are both set to that number, since your set at this point contains only one integer.