Audio Home podcasting/recording/video rig recommendations

ronnie_gogs

Morphing from a Geek to a Nerd
Skilled
Hi,

I want to setup a home podcasting/recording/video rig for myself...

Present h/w is Macbook pro 13 + Shure 440 for monitoring
Will use garageband and audacity for recording and playing

Things I plan to get in a month
1) Guitar
Electric guitar.... I am a beginner and have a acoustic at home but want to get an electric one which I can directly record and learn

Considerations
Epiphone Special II Price : around 280 SGD
Epiphone Special II - SV Guitars

Is it a good option or should I go lower or something in the same range which is better

2) Mixer and USB/Firewire audio interface

Consideration
Alesis Multimix 4
M- Audio Fast Track II

Is it a good option or should I go lower or something in the same range which is better

3) Mic
Not sure about this yet but might get one condenser eventually
Setup has to be cheap and best value .... I am not doing professional recording... Just record videos and try to make some music

^ do you have an amp for your guitar yet?

the Epi's are nice, though i own a Greg Benett myself. you can get a Greg Benett AV3 which IMHO sounds much better at a slightly higher price :) Should be around 15k/16k at your local Furtados

the mixer, well that depends on what you want to do with your setup. if you want to play>record & then see how you're doing then a mixer is not all that important, you can get a processor and plug it all in an amp which support XLR inputs (for the mic)

So basically your setup becomes

1) mic>via XLR> Amp

2) Guitar > processor > Amp

3) Amp > Via Audio Out> MBP

for Microphones, the Shure SM57 is the ideal beginner/intermediate mic. you pretty much wont need a mic ever again :) Would cost you around 5/6k

i don't know much about USB microphones, so someone else may help with that

cheers

I dont think I would need a get a Amp or a processor