Camera In need of a second Canon DSLR body

blueren

Adept
Hi All,

I currently own a Canon EOS 550D and am on the lookout for buying a new body. As my lens collection grows, I find it hard and annoying to keep swapping out lenses. I was reading up reviews on the Canon 70D. Any thoughts on this?

Current Lens:
Canon 50mm
Tamron 18-270mm
Sigma 8-16mm

I'm just a hobbyist photographer, and usually shoot outdoors and inanimate objects. :)

Thanks.

Depends how you use your camera and what exactly you are looking for in a new body. The 70D is an excellent camera for the price, its got fast AF module and one of the best live view AF for video as well among DSLRs. But if you are going to buy a 2nd body just so that you have to change the lenses often, you may be better off with a cheaper body (e.g. 700D - faster AF than 550D) and invest the remaining budget on more lenses. Again, depends what you are shooting and at what condition.

Depends how you use your camera and what exactly you are looking for in a new body. The 70D is an excellent camera for the price, its got fast AF module and one of the best live view AF for video as well among DSLRs. But if you are going to buy a 2nd body just so that you have to change the lenses often, you may be better off with a cheaper body (e.g. 700D - faster AF than 550D) and invest the remaining budget on more lenses. Again, depends what you are shooting and at what condition.

Thanks.

1. I was looking for an upgrade to the current 550D.
  2. Something that helps with taking images that are more forgiving to post processing (I shoot raw anyway).
  3. I always shoot in Manual mode, so the other fancy modes are useless to me.
  4. Like I said, mostly outdoor. Attached is my latest WIP.

Questions: