Legal help related to property

SharekhaN

Skilled
I have a situation here which I am curious to how it will play out.

Suppose I have two offsprings. Both adults. One Male and one female.

I have a property in form of a house. This is in a co-op housing society. The society nomination shows that the only nominee is the male child.

However sometime post that nomination, some differences arise and not making any changes to that society nomination, I make a will which I bequeath all of my property to wards the female child.

Can someone try and explain, what would happen in after my death in such scenarios?

^ I am no legal expert, but from what I have heard, the will is what gets the first preference. However if the male child contests the will, a judgement usually divides the property into two equal portions.

The Will gets the first preference..The legal right is passed on by the will..

If the will is in black and white, i dont see how the son can contest it, except on grounds that its ancestral or some other nooks, but thats a lawyers work..

Property matters are never clear..You never know wat twist the opposing lawyer comes out with..

I've seen a case go to supreme court after losing out in two previous courts..This was against retired judges, they tried everything in their power, but this lawyer, young guy really out did himself, i dont remember the exact case, but it was brilliant to hear how he actually turned the case on its head and won it for our family friend..

As a person who has gone through something similar, let me assure you that in case of your demise (God forbid), your wishes as per your will have to be fulfilled. If there is a legally recognized will in place, no one can deny its stipulations.

Party Monger said:
The Will gets the first preference..The legal right is passed on by the will..