Next Step in Game Programming..?

dovakhiin

Adept
Hey guys...
I'm basically an engineering student who dreams of being a game developer one day,problem is I don't know what exactly to do.:(
People in blogs and forums usually advice ppl to start with coding little games like pong,tetris.I've coded pong and tried making a space shooter but I eventually got bored because i don't like 2D games.The part I'm most interested in is 3D graphics and game physics.
I'm fairly good at OpenGL programming(fixed pipeline) and C++ programming.
So if any of you guys have any experience in game programming suggest a hobby or something like that which will help me get better at what I'm interested.
And what exactly does a B.tech graduate have to do to become a game developer in say Ubisoft Pune?

You tried looking at various online free resources (books, open source code for 3D games and engines etc) to start off?

It's a good idea to use one of the many game engines already out there like xna(c#), torque, irrlicht(c++)

You can focus on making the game rather than making the engine that way

nukeu666 said:
It's a good idea to use one of the many game engines already out there like xna(c#), torque, irrlicht(c++)

You can focus on making the game rather than making the engine that way

vishalrao said:
You tried looking at various online free resources (books, open source code for 3D games and engines etc) to start off?

Game engines are a good way to go forward i guess..i tried working on the Ogre3D engine long back but back then I did'nt know enough C++...:p.I think I'll give it a try again now that my programming skills have improved.

So does anyone know about the prospects in India and the job requirements.?I've heard that most game development companies in India work on mobile games...Is this true?

...Find a Diploma or similar Course in DirectX. and take that.

There are quite a few now in India.

I can look around and PM you some from home if needed.