Please help - laptop for novice

goni4u

Disciple
Hi All,

I have been using desktop for 10 years now but never have bought a laptop.
Now, I planned to have one as I have disposed off my P-IV CPU at home(10K),
Monitor not included :)

My requirements :

No. 1. Surfing Internet : I feel I am a net addict and I just can't stay offline.

No. 2. Watching Movies Online (Youtube) and Offline (DVD or Torrent Downloaded).
Need HDMI to connect it to my Sony LCD TV.

No. 3. Playing Games on weekends (I don't want the kid in me to die)

No. 4. MS Office and Accounting Softwares (I forgot that, I am a CA and
at the end of the day I need them too. :)

There are so many wonderful laptops available with so many confusing
combinations(configurations) that a common man like me can never
make a satisfactory purchase. (i feel so)

Some people ends up buying less powerfull machines as compared to their requirements and
some end up spending huge money on configurations they may never need.

Before, writing this post I have gone through a lot of forum posts, so have
my eyes on following :

1. SONY - VPCEB14EN (Local store is ready to give at 37500/- + bag)

2. Acer 5740G (Not enquired yet)

3. Dell Studio 15 (i3-350,3GB,320GB 7200RPM, 15.6'WLED, 1GB ATI HD 4570) 48500/- + Bag

4. I will also be happy with an HP. no model finalised yet.

# I really want a battery backup of atleat 3 hours, anything less than that sucks.
## Further i am too confused with this Graphic card Syndrom.
PLEASE HELP.

Try and deviate towards the Dell laptop.I have heard only good things about it like...

Better servicing.

Less crashes.

Less heating problems.

Faster.

Thanks for the suggestions. I have gone through the Sei's review.

It is awesome and it seems as if nothing could be better than this thing.

I am putting up in Jammu and I have the option to get it from Delhi through my Bro.