Programming - But on Mac ? Need some advice

Hi guys,

So, I recently made a transition from Windows to a Mac and the experience has been awesome so far. To the problem now:

I'll be starting college soon and will be majoring in CS. I'll be learning Python/Java/C and then use of MATLAB in the first year. I thought to make a head-start by learning programming on OS X.

I have been learning and using C++/Java/HTML etc. for the past two years. This was all in Windows. Like, For C++ there was C:/TC/Bin/TurboC and then you started coding in that blue screen. I can program really well (I think so?) in these languages but I don't know where to start in a Mac.

I know programming. I am not asking about that. I just needed to know what are the necessary softwares, applications I would need to but/download (if not inbuilt) to start it on Mac. Where do I need to go first, what do I need to do first. Remember I am a total NOOB in here so please please 'dumb down' your post a bit.

The answers on other forums left me with more questions than I initially had. (Cocoa, texteditor, eclipse, vitualbox, GUI, g++ !!!).

I googled this and stumbled upon this forum. Some threads were particularly helpful (http://www.techenclave.com/mac-os/learning-programming-on-a-mac-133705.html) but I'll be needing more info, of course.

I know this is a lot to ask but I really am hungry to learn anything and everything about programming on OS X. By the time this post is moderated and receives any response, I'll be armed with some more information on this topic

Thanks!!

P.S. If there's already been a thread or a very informative post/link, that spells out the basics or anything like that, out there on the net please or on this forum, please do tell me.

EDIT: I already have the latest version of X Code (if that helps).

Hmmm. Keeping in mind the magnitude of responses that my question has generated, I'll rephrase the question.