Rocket Scientist Seeks Job Via eBay

Ein

Adept
Frustrated because hunting for work the old-fashioned way proved fruitless, a recent engineering grad is seeking a new job--and asking prospective employers to bid on his salary--via an auction on eBay.

"Hello, I am seeking an employer for my engineering services," John Davis wrote in his eBay posting. "After a summer of job hunting to such places as Northrop Grumman, Boeing, Lockheed Martin, and Raytheon as well as Callaway Golf and Taylor Made Golf I was only contacted for one interview…I hope that there is someone out there that takes this seriously as I am an extremely dedicated worker who just needs to get his career going."

Davis wrote that he's a recent graduate of the University of California at San Diego, where he earned a Bachelor of Science degree in Aerospace Engineering. "I graduated in June 2005 with a GPA of 3.021," he noted.

In his eBay auction listing, which began Monday and ends on January 27, Davis set the starting bid at $46,725.75. So far, there have been no bids for Davis's services. He's hoping to snare a position at an aerospace company working on space applications or on unmanned aerial vehicles, or at a golf manufacturing company. ("I am an extremely avid golfer," he adds.)

Davis's salary expectations come in at the lower end of the scale. According to a National Association of Colleges and Employers survey, 2005 starting salaries for aerospace engineers averaged $50,993. Aerospace engineers who graduated from the University of Michigan in 2004 received starting salary offers of $49,986, according to The Wall Street Journal.