Should one follow his high school friends to college?

Dishant996

Disciple
Hey guys, actually its not about any college, but personal matter. My friends, with whom i studied PCM with, all of them are going to the same college, in same branch, CSE. And my interest lies in cse as well. Technically, i'm going to another college, where i know no one. I don't even know a senior in the college i'm going to. I chose my college according to ranking it has, and my friends chose their college over distance and how nice their interaction with faculty was. So, basically it makes me doubt my judgement about my college. Basically people like to go college other then their friends so that they can meet new people and make new friends, but for me, its not that easy, i have difficulty in making new friends. What to do?

Should one follow ones friends that are jumping off a cliff? No right? That answers the question.

Now to the real question, How do you make friends? Everyday, say hi to 10 random people in college. Get the numbers of 5 new people, and decide atleast 2 that you want to stay in touch with. Most people are themselves shy and if you approach them, they will greet you warmly. Small talk like how much the canteen sucks, or how hot the climate is pretty good. With guys, talk about girls, with girls, talk about movies, songs, other girls, studies etc.

Main thing to keep in mind - Dont get involved in other peoples affairs, dont poke your nose. Stay away from group politics. And dont bad mouth anyone no matter how much they deserve it. That should get you a lot of friends.