Skills for a webapp with a MVC framework (also looking for a Mentor)

Party Monger

Skilled
Hello, Im looking to learn a MVC Framework. I know basic HTML and CSS. Have worked a bit with Bootstrap too ( bit.ly/1fwGcJn ) Could someone tell me what other skills I'll require to be able to create full blown webapps and how much time it would take to learn them? Just to get an idea.

I'm guessing -
1) Javascript
2) Php
3) SQL
4) And something like Backbone.js ?

Anything else?

Do give your more feedback. For MVC framework i'm looking at Laravel. It's got some amazing buzz around it. And seems very convenient from my newbie POV.

Also if someone is experienced, and willing to mentor through the learning phase (I know how to search, wont be bothering you much) I'd be grateful.

My personal opinion :
I just saw the introduction documentation for Laravel framework . I have been using Codeigniter since 3 years and the learning curve for laravel seems to be very steep . It has ORM , templating engine etc . I like to write queries directly rather than this active record and ORM stuff . I do not know much about the templating engine Laravel is using but i have worked on sites using Smarty and it is exactly not very convenient using it , i'd rather write pure PHP . But that's me . I recommend to look into codeigniter to get a idea about MVC without that complex stuff . Then when you have undestood the basic concept you can move on to whatever framework you want.

+1 for CodeIgniter. I have tried many but CodeIgniter has less learning curve and better in terms of performance too. And most of all, Codeigniter has full blown community support unlike Laravel, which means wherever you stuck, someone out is there to help you.