The Personal Hygiene Thread!

unni

Adept
While I am in Kerala, my skin is all fine. But in the Bangalore climate, it becomes very dry. Without a moisturizer, I cannot survive at all :). I have been using Dove soap/Vaseline moisturizer for the past 4 years, which has helped me to a certain extent. Now I want to go for something better. If you guys know of any, please suggest.

It wont go away for the rest of your life. You can install a humidifier in your house, but the moment you step outside you are screwed.

A more permanent solution would be to shift to a humid place like Mumbai or Chennai <-- this is what I would do if I were in your situation.

Combination of Dove Soap(bodywash is way better) and Vaseline Men moisturizer is perfect combination(the Vaseline men thingy is more watery than regular Vaseline). Plus you need to see the way you use towel to wipe off water, use the pat dry technique, helps a lot.

Thanks guys for your replies. I think I will continue with Dove+Vaseline and the pat dry for some more time. I cannot purchase a humidifier for the time being. I will give coconut oil a try as well since my parents recommend it highly. If I find anything better, will let you know.

^^ My advice: Buy a can of Olive oil. Apply it 10 to 15 mins before taking bath. After bath, use the moisturizer. Works super effectively...! :)

^^ +1 to that. And if you find olive oil to be too expensive then go for coconut oil as your parents suggested.

Also, I think it gets better once you get acclimatised to the dry weather. After that you would have to deal with excess sweat when you go home to Kerala :D

This helped me too.

My skin is fine bt in winter no matter what, it becomes very dry as if i'm born with dry skin. So i too use dove + vaseline combo. But seriously saying, its a bit time consuming applying vaseline all over body. But then what better way to tackle this..

How to deal with dandruff?

Since past 4 years my hair scalp is literally haunted by dandruff.