Camera Upgrading to Full Frame

Status
Not open for further replies.

Ameet

Recruit
I have been using my D5100 for the past three years and i am Planning to take the plunge and buy a full frame camera.
I had a few questions that i hope you'll could help me with.
Should i wait for the new 5d marks iii's successor or should i just buy the d810?
I will be buying the 70-200 f2.8 and 24-70 f2.8. and the 85 mm
Now, the dilemna here is whether to buy nikkor/canon lenses or sigma, tamaron?
Will i get a cheaper deal if i buy from a retail store or buying online would be the better option here?
Also some suggestions for a sturdy tripod, a camera bag and flashes?

If you have the budget, then the 5Ds is a very capable camera indeed. The lenses you have chosen are bog standard for FF as well now. Stick to the Can/Nik-on lenses as you will miss out on the optic quality otherwise.

Online: Check with Can/Nik-on service center on warranty applicability first.

Tripod: Manfrotto carbon fiber ones with a head of your choice. Plan for up to 5-7 Kgs of weight capability.

Flash: very very subjective thing, depends on the power range and capability you want. I use a Metz 52 right now.

TBH, you are the first person I have come across, who wants to jump from Nikon to Canon camp at this time.

From people I know, there has been a great inclination toward D750, due to its comparable performance to 5dmk3 but at a hell lot lesser price.
http://snapsort.com/compare/Canon-EOS-5D-Mark-III-vs-Nikon-D750

I would suggest plan for long term, as you can always keep the lenses and keep upgrading the body. So may be start with a cheaper option D750 and divert budget to better lenses. If budget is not an issue, still I do not find a reason to go for 2-3 year old release (5dmk3)

(BTW I own a canon crop)

first of all... what kind of photography are you interested in?
second... dont buy zooms. (this also depends upon the type of photography)