US trip - general tips

agantuk

Skilled
Plenty of threads already here on some of the basic stuff, though I felt a few things might have got missed. So I have those questions here. Considering lot of folk do end up going to US at some point, it would be nice if we can make this some sort of generic thread with all the vital information at one place.

My questions are regarding:
  • driving - I am a fairly good driver in Indian conditions, but have never ever driven an automatic or left side. How long does it usually take to get accustomed to their mode of driving?
  • tipping - what is the general practice? I don't mind tipping, but I need to know what is acceptable and what is not. I have heard that it is a good practice to tip even the taxi driver if you do use one. Is that the case?

Plenty of threads already here on some of the basic stuff, though I felt a few things might have got missed. So I have those questions here. Considering lot of folk do end up going to US at some point, it would be nice if we can make this some sort of generic thread with all the vital information at one place.

My questions are regarding:
  • driving - I am a fairly good driver in Indian conditions, but have never ever driven an automatic or left side. How long does it usually take to get accustomed to their mode of driving?
  • tipping - what is the general practice? I don't mind tipping, but I need to know what is acceptable and what is not. I have heard that it is a good practice to tip even the taxi driver if you do use one. Is that the case?

Driving should be straightforward. Take lessons from someone (or pay driving instructor about $75-$100 for a one hour lesson) just to get used to traffic rules and etiquette.