4 GPUs, PC freeze. Possible pcie lanes saturation?

Hello

I have an intel i5 11400f processor and MSI ACE Z590 GOLD EDITION Motherboard, coupled with 3x3090 and a 4080 super. i have two SSDs installed. 128gb ram.

I use it for machine learning. (i am using ubuntu).

3x3090 GPUs are connected through risers, with 4080 being installed in the motherboard.

Each gpu works fine when installed in the motherboard individually.

If i use 2 specific 3090s with risers that i know are working, the system runs fine.

If i use the third 3090 with the riser, my system hangs. It only hangs when the gpus are being used (loading the models for example). I have tried 6 risers so far but none of them were stable.

First question is, could i be saturating my pcis lanes? What would happen if all the PCIE lanes are used? Is that why my system hangs?

Also, how else can i debug what the problem is?

PS: Anyone here who can sell me a riser that worked for them?

Thanks

I've had some experience with saturating PCIe slots on both Intel and AMD. In short, it rarely works because there's not enough lanes.

You have two slots connected to the CPU, all of the other slots are connected to the chipset, they will be throttled and slow down the entire system if they're expected to perform on par with the other two slots.

You'll need a server platform, or a HEDT platform to have more than two slots connected to the CPU directly.

You may be able to get three cards connected to the CPU if you use a m.2 adapter to convert the first SSD slot into a x4 slot for a GPU but this only works on AMD, I couldn't get it to work with Intel.

What kind of risers are you using?

Last edited:
I've had some experience with saturating PCIe slots on both Intel and AMD. In short, it rarely works because there's not enough lanes.