Graphic Cards 6600GT with a Athlon 2800+

lazybugger

Disciple
Hey guys,

How do you think this card would run on my system??
Card Specs:

6600 GT
Brand: XFX
Slot Type: AGP
VRAM: 128MB DDR3
Clock Speed: 500 MHz
Memory Speed: 1Ghz
Package includes the card, TV-out cable and bundled games.
This is for sale by neville & I am planning to buy it.

My config:
AMD Athlon 2800+
ASUS mobo K8V-MX with VIA chipset(VRAM: 64MB inbuilt I think)
Ram : 512MB

I am a noob at gaming. Can any gaming expert kindly enlighten??

Thanx
Lazy

It will be decent enough for playing older pre 2005 and maybe some 2005 games. The card may be CPU limited though so you won't get the best performance from this card.

Main thing is, you need to have a decent PSU for a 6600GT. A generic 300W PSU may or may not suffice.

VRAM won't make a any difference with your current config.

This card and this cpu came around the same time, and are kind of made for each other if you will.

Like sydras said, useful for pre 2005 and some 2005 games. Also some/most 2006 games at low resolutions.

So if thats what you are aiming for go for it :hap2:

Hey guys

Is this config sufficient for running vista perfectly on my machine???

Need info fast guys........ Got to buy it soon

:thanx:

Lazy

512MB RAM may cause some problems for running vista, it would run but access the swap file too frequently. Unless you want to add another 512mb, Windows XP would be better.

And for that price you can get a 7300GT which should be a better price.

Try to OVERCLOCK the Processor but run the GPU at default-speed.

V\/V Deepak, agree with him. VIA is too much limited with OC. Didn't noticed that the board is of VIA. Still give a try....

^^ Thats a Via chipset, I doubt it has AGP locks, besides its Asus, so I am betting no OC'in options.

Like others have suggested I'd say get more RAM with it, games like Farcry etc gonna make use of it.

sydras said: