Advise needed - Setup with B&W 684 (Front/ Center/ Surround) + B&W ASW610 Sub + Pioneer VSX-LX53 + Additional Sub Klipsch SPL-100

vercetti

Skilled
Making a post in TE after 7 years probably....Feels good to login to TE after so many years :)

So below is the background:
  • I am a rookie Home theatre enthusiast. used to own entry level 5.1 setups 15 years ago but have been using sound bars ever since I moved to Hong Kong (tiny houses and living rooms)
  • Now moving to a bigger house so plan to get a 5.2 setup which I would expand later to a 7.2 setup.
  • I have a LG OLED55C6P since last 6 years and fon't plan to upgrade for next 12 months. Own all consoles (PS5, Series X, Switch which I play regularly) and regulary watch 4k HDR high bit rate movies.

I am getting a good deal on the below (11k HKD which is roughly 1400 USD on the below) && I had recently also bought a Klipsch SPL-100 sub for 150USD (1400 HKD).
  • Pioneer VSX-LX53 (its a old 5.1 AV receiver with HDMI 1.4 but I need to buy this as a set - I Plan to upgrade later)
  • B&W set of 5 speakers Front/ Center/ Surround (with stands for the surround speakers) - B&W 684 floor standing, center and smaller surround speakers. Owners say these are well maintained
  • B&W ASW610 Sub
  • The above comes with cables included

I wanted to know if this would be a GREAT setup for movie + Game + music. I was more apprehensive as the B&W 684's are almost 15 years old model so wasnt sure if it would be a good idea for me to get these.

Lastly, what kind of tests and inspection do I need to perform to verify there is no mid-range blowouts and other issues with the setup? the owner has the complete system hooked up at his place now so I can test it

Thanks in advance for your help and apologies if some of the questions are silly...as I am a complete noob - have been reading and researching since last 2 weeks but I still don't have a clarity on the basics. This pic gives size for the living/ dining area ( )