Broadband over BlueToooth

dsarosh

Adept
Hi,
This is a kind of continuation thread of my previous post regarding bsnl WiFi modems.
I got some very helpful ideas from you guys, and I am thankful.

I would like to find out from you guys the possibility of getting internet on my netbook through BlueTooth. I have no experience in this regard, I dont even know which is the part I should buy; it is called a 'blue tooth device' or a 'bluetooth modem', how much does it cost, etc, etc?

I have connected my netbook to two mobile phones via blue tooth and transferred some images from the phone to my netbook. The process seemed very fast.

So here are my questions:

1) What is the Blue Tooth device I need to buy and fix in my PC so that my PC and my netbook are always connected wirelessly? What is it called? How much does it cost?
2) MOST IMPORTANTLY: once my netbook is connected to my PC via bluetooth, can i share the internet connection of my PC on my netbook? I will install the required software such as server software, or proxy software, or which software is required.
3) I noticed all the blue tooth devices have "modem options" so I guess itis possible to configure a bluetooth device as a modem.
I would really appreciate some help in this regard since I have no prior knowledge or experience about bluetooth.
Thanks,
Sarosh.

1. An USB Bluetooth Dongle.

2. Assuming your netbook has WiFi, simply connect to your PC's Wifi modem.

3. Yes, the bluetooth device should act as a modem for the host.

For Eg: A mobile phone acting as a modem for a PC via BT.

Wait for more inputs. :)

Thanks very much,

Any idea about how much this dongle cost?

I was thinking about a WiFi modem, but one of the biggest advantage with the bluetooth is i can transfer files from my pc to my netbook over the bluetooth. I cant do this with a wifi modem.

If I can just put a bluetooth device in my PC and then share the internet through the bluetooth on my netbook, that would be perfect solution.