can anyone hack our video chat calls ?

so now a days there are various ways through which we can chat .. skype .. gmail .. yahoo .. facebook etc etc ..

today at college a friend of mine was discussing about video calls being hacked .. he said a few days ago while he was chatting with his sister he suspected something and suddenly the video turned dark .. he said someone had hacked his web cam and so he immediately unpugged his lan wire.

i dont know a bit about this .. is it possible to hack webcam .. ?? or hack yahoo skype or gmail and see live video chats of any users ??

i chat with numerous friends but i never gave a thought about this !!

if yes what steps should we take to make the chats safe ?

ps : im complete noob in this
<

I can do this if somehow I get my application copied to your system(and so does some one else), now to copy it to your system one can try several old school techniques, pen drive with auto start, sending it hidden in a mail attachment etc etc. But that is not what you are looking for I guess.

About intercepting it between source and target; I doubt it can be done easily as the transmission should be encrypted. .

I google it and reached hereFrom http://news.cnet.com...9962106-38.html, as per this link

AOL Instant Messenger, Google Talk, IBM's Lotus Sametime, and Skype do.​

Also worth noticing is Google response:

[font=Helvetica, Arial, sans-serif]Our Web client sends messages in plain text, but users can opt in to HTTPS if they want encryption (I guess it is https bydefault now days)[/font]

[font=Helvetica, Arial, sans-serif]Now this is an old article so things might have improved till now. But here you go.[/font]

[font=Helvetica, Arial, sans-serif]P.S.: on a lighter no[/font]te, are you worried about being caught while watching video %^&*...
tongu23e.gif