Connect 2 computers via internet ?!?

sri_rng

Adept
Hi folks,
I am a real noob in this subject.. Can you plz guide me how to connect 2 computers via internet.. one (me) is having a Sify BB connection and the other a BSNL one.. both are running Windows XP pro if thats of any help..

I want to control the other comp ( something like remote desktop) plz help..

www.logmein.com

Its basically a browser-based remote connection and desktop controlling webapp. You need to register on the site and download the particular logmein program on the machine which needs to be controlled. Similarly, you can download the application on both the machines (basically both the downloads are automatically assigned different identifiers so they can be authenticated properly) if you want to control them both from either machines.

As of now, the site has made available a free trial of 30 days to check out its various cool offers. And if you do not want to continue using the same (once the trial has expired or you just don't want to) you can directly go for the free one. Plus, they recently have added new better controlling features for firefox users. So if you are one, make sure to install the plugin that you will be prompted to before activating the connection.

Its real great for the novice folks who just want to directly start remote accessing in a simple manner without having to go through the process of customizing the plethora of settings for the likes of VNC and blah.

boss...dont u need public static ip's to do that...and bsnl doesnt provide one..

not a noob...but not an expert in this issue either..always wondered abt this..will b reading this thread..into networking/administration..

Logmein doesnt require us to manipulate any IP configurations as such and it runs fantastic on all 3 of my machines inter-connected via MTNL.

Alternatives like GoToMyPc and FreeVNC do exist, both of which fail to equate to Logmein.