Camera FZ40 or FZ100 or HS10 ?

su30mki117

Disciple
I am just a casual photographer and am confused between the three. Is the FZ40 enough or is it worth it to shell out some more money and go for either FZ100 or HS10? I don't think I need the 30x zoom of HS10, I guess 24x is more than enough.

Also do suggest other alternatives in the same range.

The HS10 will be replaced by the HS20 which has slightly bigger EXR-backlit sensor.It also has faster autofocus.
Other cameras worth waiting for is the Sony HX100 has a Carl Zeiss lens and fast AF,like the HS20 has manual ring.

The point is I am getting the FZ40 for 13k, so I thought I will keep it for a few years and then get a decent DSLR. Also I guess I will get the FZ-100 for about 17k. So I just need to pay 4K more for all the extra features the FZ100 offers. Any idea what the market price is for HS-10 right now? Also any idea what the prices of HS20 and HX100 would be approximately?

The new ones will be priced about the same or perhaps may be a bit cheaper.The HS10 costs around 21k .

The FZ40 is a good buy for that price,the FZ100 isn't worth the extra and its CMOS sensor isn't really that good.

:O ....where are you getting these prices from ? Dont hesitate and go for FZ 40 if you dnt need the burst rate and 240 FPS video !

Shall I go ahead with the FZ40 then? Any idea what the price of FZ40 in India is?

--- Updated Post - Automerged ---

Bro is in Philippines and one of his colleagues knows a Panasonic dealer there. :)

Oh...thats makes sense...In indian grey market, i think FZ40 will cost around 20k sumthing.

And i have FZ35, and its good enough for casual photographers !

Pros of FZ 100 over FZ 40 :-

Better Burst rate

240 FPS video in QVGA resolution.

Pros of FZ 40 over FZ 100 :-

Better Picture quality.

Cheaper price.

Err...pros of FZ100:

Mechanical shutter (found in only SLR's not not normally used in Megazooms)

best 1080p video quality (among all the mega zooms currently available)