getting .1Kbps download speed in utorrent

adder

Skilled
ok guys i just installed Utorrent and in preferences i unchecked the UpNp port mapping thats all i did and started dowloading and i am getting 1KB/s download in utorrent, is there any other setting i should know about.

note i this is my first time i have ever used a any torrent .

Well how many seeds are you getting.... I assume that you are using a public tracker.... when you dowload a torrent file...always see the seeder/leecher ratio.... more seeders generally means faster download speeds....

its means the port is not accepting connections... you have to port forward in order to get proper download speeds....

What ADSL modem are you using....

Find guides for port forwarding

Hey,

It's most likely not the seeder/leecher ratio but ur firewall.

If u have a firewall, check whether utorrent is added in the exception list and allowed all incoming and outgoing traffic.
On allowing all traffic, there's a status icon on the lower section of utorrent which should change to green which means proper flow of traffic. Currently, it should be yellow now.

Just add the utorrent.exe to the exceptions and utorrent will work fine.
All the above mentioned are applicable to Norton Internet Security Suites.

If using Kaspersky, u have to add the port utorrent is using to the exceptions rule of the firewall.

See if it helps. Let me know in case u need more info.:)

well i use the windows firewall and yes it had been added to the firwall exception list.i am getting anywhere b/w .1KB/s to 6KB/s.

Did U try any other torrents(i.e. from other sites like piratebay etc).

See if u get better speeds there coz if u do then probably the torrents are a problem.

What port number are u using for incoming and outgoing traffic? Are u not using any security suites?