Help with Wifi for laptop

F-0ccY

Skilled
Just to clear this out, I am a total noob when it comes to Wifi and internet networking stuff so please keep the explanations as simple as possible.

I just bought the D-Link DIR-615 Wireless N Router.I need some advice on what I should do next?

I was thinking of calling MTNL and asking about their plans, because I need a separate connection for Wifi and won't be using my Desktop's connection for it.

Could anyone suggest some good plans from any of the service providers?

TIA.

Instead of using 2 separate plans why not go for a single high capacity plan like 512kbps or 1mbps? I've done the same and I'm on Reliance wired broadband 600kbps. It works fine because the wifi is used atmost a few hours a day and the rest of the time I'm downloading @ 70kbps :D

How about Reliance Wimax ? 400Kbps Unlimited for around 990/-.

No downtimes. Awesome connection. Good Download Speeds.

Forgive my ignorance, but don't you need a DSL or cable modem that needs to be attached to the wifi router? Or can I just connect the cable that's connected to my desktop's Ethernet port?

You can use the cable connected to your desktop's ethernet port..Plug it into the ethernet port of your router..

Does your internet need to login ?

Yes its a PPPoE connection.

So, I need to connect the cable that's connected to my Ethernet port to the WAN port in the Wifi router and use the other wire provided in the wifi router's box to connect one end to the 1st LAN slot and the other end to the Ethernet port on my laptop? or desktop?

Ok heres a small guide

1) take out the desktop internet ethernet cable.

2) plugit in the first ethernet slot of the wifi modem.

3) thenuse another ethernet cable to connect the modem to your desktop through the second ethernet slot.