Horrible experience with Amazon

Emrebel

Adept
During Amazon's Great Indian Festival sale I ordered Samsung Galaxy FE 5G 128gb as it was on offer with bank cashback.
The order was supposed to be delivered 2-3 days later. On the day it was out for delivery, I tried reaching the delivery agent as I was in
campus (I am a student) and wanted him to deliver near the campus ( the address was home address).
To my surprise, I called that agent 5 times and he rejected the calls every single time. So, I called the Customer Service (CS) to inquire about the product.
He told me that the product was sent back to the warehouse (mind it, this is morning 10 am time). He told me the shift of delivery agent was over (Nice at 10 am)
But he assured me that he would try to reschedule delivery. I asked him if he can at least ask the new delivery agent to deliver close to campus.
Almost half an hour after the call, I saw that my order on Amazon was cancelled and I was getting a refund.

Almost 6-7 calls with Customer service, and nobody could help me explain how the heck delivery agent get such a power to just return back the delivery.
The fact that I was never contacted by him and top of it he rejected my calls. And to make things worse the CS executives assured me that the product will be delivered.

I felt like calling the CS executives is almost useless. They don't seem to have any power and the delivery team seems to operate independently.

I never expected Amazon to be so naive with this kind of system in place.
At this point I feel like it is better to visit a store in-person and get assured with purchases.

On fair side I am glad I didn't received it as I was in dilemma between that and iphone. I might go for an iphone now.

My only issue from this entire experience is how come for a paid product the customer is still at the mercy of the company. It does not appears to be a customer-centric design.

Sorry for the rant. Peace!!