Mumbai Airport - International to Domestic transfer + Customs

red-devil

Disciple
I'm heading to Bangalore via Mumbai and since I have a 3 hour layover in Mumbai, I was planning to meet some of my friends there. Since Mumbai is my port of entry, I'm assuming I will have to go through customs there. I'm carrying a few things - 1 laptop, 1 ipad, 1 DSLR with 3 lenses, 3 cellphones (1 old one which I will check in, 1 nexus 4 which is my phone and 1 new nexus 5)
I'm planning on carrying all of these in my carry on luggage. Is it advisable? Any way to avoid getting frisked by mamu's over there?

And between avoiding attention from customs folks and with the new terminal that they've constructed, how much time do you think I have to meet my friends? Will I have to exit the terminal and go through security check again? In which case how much time will that take?

PS: yes there were old threads on this topic but I didn't want to bump them.

Those items seem fine if you had one less phone though it might not cause any issues. Dump the boxes/packaging of all items and carry them as 'personal/used' items. Someone who has traveled through Mumbai should be able to guide which phone to carry and which to keep it the bag etc. Checking/frisking is at random so don't worry about it.