Laptops My Asus ROG Strix G15 is cooked

khamosh

Patron
Need help assessing the problem with the cooling of my laptop.
CPU: i7 10750H
GPU: 1650ti

CPU is constantly reaching temperatures of 80-85 under normal loads.
I discovered this after using MSI Afterburner when installed Windows 11.
I had been using Ubuntu prior to windows installation for 2-3 months

I noticed there were burn marks on the CPU and GPU that looked like glue or thermal paste. Looks like some kind of spillage.
When I touched it with my nails, it felt like a paste that was hard but not too hard

My laptop is 3.5 years old with minimal usage and the model is ROG strix G15 [G512LI]

I haven't taken it to a service center yet because I primarily use a PC.

What will it cost to repair this thing? Any DIY alternatives?

PS: these pictures were taken at the start of this month, forgot to ask here

Attachments

• 20240801_174848.jpg
    20240801_174848.jpg
    326.8 KB · Views: 46
  • 20240801_174853.jpg
    20240801_174853.jpg
    326.5 KB · Views: 47
  • 20240801_174907.jpg
    20240801_174907.jpg
    314.4 KB · Views: 47
  • 20240801_175002.jpg
    20240801_175002.jpg
    472.7 KB · Views: 46
Last edited:
yeah thats thermal paste, I dont really see any burn marks and since you are DIY savvy enough to open your laptop, you can just clean the die and the surrounding area with a cloth and apply new paste to it, not sure if the 10th gen versions of Strix used Liquid Metal, if thats indeed LM, then the situation is way worse and my recommendation would be to get it cleaned asap without turning on your computer (LM can fry your motherboard pretty easily), you can look up videos online on how peeps deal with LM spillages

P.S. clean your fans and the vents too

Edit: CPU revolves around 70-90 when idle [doing nothing] and when doing normal to slight usage it constantly hits at 90-95