Need help with pytorch....cannot resume training

Hi

I'm working with nanogpt, a repo that allows you to make a small version of ChatGPT, and i have run into a problem.

I have to train it using large amount of data, but having insufficient Ram i have to figure out a way where i train the model with a subset of data first, then move on to the next file.

What i have so far is multiple input files and a script that trains the model. Then i have a bash script that runs the training file by feeding it multiple inputs in a loop. But when i resume training, it just doesn't happen. No errors.

I'm new to ML and do not fully understand how the script works. The max iterations are 5000. Training resumes at 5000 steps. Is it because 5000 steps have already been completed that training doesn't resume?

Any input will be helpful

Thanks

Have you read the main README of the github repo??? I just quickly skimmed through it and there is a section marked "I only have a macbook" or other cheap computer in bold lol.

It says to set some flag cpu= true and use nightly build of pytorch or whatever.

Also has the full set of options to specify like max iterations but also normal steps and iterations options are low numbers.

Good luck.

BTW what are your hardware specs?

I have an Athlon 3000g cpu, 8 gigs ram and 2x3080ti ( 64gb ram arriving tomorrow)

Yes i can run the script with a single file without and with the cpu flag. But what i want is for it to run with multiple inputs without my intervention.

Is it too much to ask for you to look at the train.py file? Maybe you'll be able to figure out how can I run it with multiple inputs

Thanks

This is just a curiosity to me, I'm not versed in ml either lol but I'll try looking at the repo and script if there's anything glaringly obvious...

@draglord so in train.py I see an "init_from" param default to "scratch"... have you tried setting it to "resume" and see if that works? just a shot in the dark for me.