Noob buying a DSLR/High end point&shoot <25k. Advice needed

Hi guys,

This question is from a person who is used to taking photos from a Canon IXUS 50, 5MP point and shoot camera.

We're going on a vacation to Europe and that is why i need a good camera.

I have a budget of 25k and i am looking for a good camera, I am a bit of a photographer but Not too much into manual settings to take just one pic. Scenery, portraits and pictures of monuments are the pics that i will be taking during the tour.

The camera that i will buy depends on the suggestions that i get here, So what do you guys suggest? Should i buy an entry level DSLR, high end point and shoot?

Also, As i am used to operating a canon and sony, Canon and sony cameras are preferred!

What do u guys think abot Nikon DSLR D3000, DSC-HX100V and Canon DSLR EOS 1000D

I would suggest a high end super zoom camera. The reason being is that on a vacation you would want a nice zoom lens. A DSLR comes with a 18-55mm (3x zoom) lens. Its a bit restrictive if you don't have a 55-200mm type lens for clicking far away objects.

Also since you don't like to dabble in manual settings a high end superzoom camera makes a lot of sense as its designed to give you very good quality JPEG files. A DSLR has rather bland JPEGs unless you tweak the settings.

Good options to consider are the SX230 and the Sony HX-100V.

Thanks a lot for the reply guys,

I have finalized a few models,

Nikon P500 vs. Sony DSC-HX100v

Also, Nikon L120 is around 8k cheaper than the P500, My question is, Is P500 worth the extra 8k? I mean it does have more zoom, But it has a CMOS sensor when compared to CCD sensor of L120, Does it make a lot of difference when shooting scenery and monuments?

And how do cameras like Canon PowerShot SX230 HS perform when compared to super zoom cameras like L120?

cooldude_007 said:
Thanks a lot for the reply guys,

I have finalized a few models,

Nikon P500 vs. Sony DSC-HX100v