Car & Bike Punto or Polo ?

Dark Star

ex-Mod
Well I was planning to buy a bike but dumping that idea for a car. Since I don't have a car I think getting one will be much better for long run and safer drive. Plus I can drive with my mom and friends. Ahh overall a 4wheel is always better than 2 :p

Anyways I shortlisted the two of them. I have a budget around ~4.6lk. I was planning to buy the Petrol version (1.2) of the same. But have some doubts.

To begin with I am a noob in automobiles so I don't understand much jargons and the requisites of the same. Now here are the issues : -

1. Both comes with 1.2l petrol (the one I am looking for). Do I need more ? I mean I will only ride the car for some outing and casual riding. Will be using the car for daily commuting as well. This is my first car so don't know much.
2. Polo is 3 cylinder while Punto is 4.On paper punto sounds more powerful since the load will be 25% on each cylinder compared to 33% on polo.
3. Heard that Punto petrol variant has pathetic average. of around ~8kmpl, while Polo has overall good average >13 kmpl, basically due to 3cylinder and better compression ratio.
4. Interiors. haven't checked them personally so can't make out anythings. But from the brochure Polo looks better.
5. What else should I think before buying ??? I don't want Airbags, ABS thingy which adds to the cost since I am not on flexible budget.
6. After sale service and resale value should be the concern as well. Will probably keep the car till I draw some handsome salary (to buy a SUV) :bleh:

The price point. The "website" pricing lists Punto as 4.3 for base and around 4.55 for the higher model, while polo starst from 4.5. So what should be the choice ? looks wise both are good Polo looks more sporty yet gives a executive sort of look while punto looks casual.

I only want to buy the car amongts the two of them, dont want to look at maruti and other offerings since I don't like the styling and looks of any one 'em.