CPU/Mobo Some questions about the AMD platform

RenderMan

Disciple
Hi guys,
this is my first post in a technical thread and i have a few questions for you, some of which may sound stupid, but it'll a go a long way in helping me to understand a few things about the amd platform.hope you understand.. :)

1. I'm a normal pc user and i have no knowledge about overclocking. I do not even intend to oclock my cpu.So which cpu will suit my needs more, A64 3000+/3200+ (939) or an Opteron 144?

2. What is the difference between an A64 3000+ (939) and an Opteron 144?

3. If i do not overclock, will an opteron 144 be a cpu of choice for me? will it still outperform say, a 3ghz P4 ?

4. I went to a few motherboard sites and i saw five different chipsets of nforce4.. 1. Nforce4
2. Nforce Ultra
3. Nforce SLI
4. Nforce SLI x16
5. Nforce 400/geforce 6100
Now i'm totally confused as which chipset to go for. What is the difference between these?

5. Which motherboard should i buy for A64 939/opteron 144 ?

Your inputs will be of immense help to me..thanks. :)

The opteron 144 and the venice 3000+ both share the same speed (1.8 GHz), but the opty has the advantage of the extra L2 cache (1MB vs the 512 kb on the venice).

Clock per clock, the opty will be slightly faster than the venice, but not sgnificantly enough to notice in real world applications like gaming.

The opty 144 will be slightly faster at stock than a venice 3000+ and so should be on par, if not slighly faster than a 3 GHz P4 .

The nForce 4 range of chipsets is the best for overclocking at the moment. However, it doesn't support AGP graphics cards, only PCI-express. The opposite is true for nFoce 3.

The nForce force 4 ulta is the chipset of choice if you plan on using a single graphics card. If you however are going to be using 2 nVidia (SLi compatible mind you) graphics cards in SLi, or plan to move on to SLi in the future, the nForce 4 SLi chipset is the way to go.