The new TL-WR1043ND would have more range than my RT-n13u?

coolraghav

Skilled
The new model has arrived at flipkart http://www.flipkart.com/tp-link-tl-...1,,,c,,,,,,,&gclid=CN-Lp4_jtLwCFWkB4god-BAANw

I have been using RT-N13U since last 3 years i suppose and I have tried upgrading to wd n600 dual band or tp-link wdr4300 both had less range than RT-N13U in 2.4ghz..

Has anyone tried this new model or knows how much tx power I can pull out of it? with rt-n13u I can pull around 23dbm easily without any distortion or noise which is the best part. So if I want to upgrade to single band or dual band router which allows me max tx power of like 24-25dbm easily which one you would suggest?

Source :-
http://www.tp-link.com/common/Spotlight/TL-WR1043ND.html?siteid=1
http://www.flipkart.com/tp-link-tl-...43ND&ref=b8dcb826-3508-4552-8e1c-9d471dac0fc0

TL-WR1043ND is not a new model. I have been using it for last 5-6months and guess it came it to the market much much earlier.

I got it for mostly the gigabit LAN part. I use the wireless connectivity but its not very important for me. But this is what I have noticed -
Compared to Buffalo WHR-G300N (with DD-WRT and some tweaking on tx power) that I had earlier -
1. Wireless range is much better (I live in a house with 14" thick walls). But I am not sure what a good range is. For me, its around 20-25ft that I have used.
2. It is much more stable. The wireless on the buffalo used to drop connections (around once an hour). I dont see such issues with this.

I guess DD-WRT firmware should give more control over tx power. I am still on stock.

EDIT:
Sorry, the link has a new model. But the model no is exact same. So, my opinion is based on the older model.

Everything is the same as with TP Link 1043, only the exterior design of the model has changed.

This is a single band router, also the max Tx is 20, even after installing DD-WRT on it there is really no option to push above 20.