The Power Supply Unit recommendation thread!

Status
Not open for further replies.
Disclaimer: I am not an expert on ANYTHING, but I'd like to think I've picked up a thing or two by hanging around these forums.

Lets start with the basics.

What is a Power Supply Unit?
The power supply unit (abbreviated as PSU) or the SMPS, as it is more commonly known in India, is a device that supplies power to all the components that make up a computer system. (To get a definition of power, I direct you to a 5th grade science textbook).

Why should I give a damn about it?
This is a very pertinent question that many computer buyers ask. Up until 2006, choosing a good power supply was not a major issue. The PSUs that came coupled with our cabinets were quite sufficient to power the various devices in our computer. One can say that choosing a good PSU became a major concern only with the advent of high performance PCI-Express based graphics cards. These graphics cards would require a separate power supply connection obtained directly from the PSU to satisfy their power requirement.

Suddenly the least thought about component in a computer system became a point of major concern. What is the efficiency of the power supply? What wattage does my system require? What amperage is required on the 12V rail? You could almost hear the collective gasp of a million first-time computer buyers from a continent away (and this sound continues to echo even today).

Ok fine, so your precious PSU is important. What do I need to see when I choose a good power supply?
Now that's more like it! You should look for the following things when choosing a power supply for your system:
1) Rated power output in Watts (quite obvious, don't ya think?)
2) Total amperage on the various rails (more on this later)
3) Connectors included with it (6-pin PCI-E connector, 2x6-pin, 4x6-pin, 8-pin)
4) If running SLI/Crossfire, whether the unit is SLI/Crossfire certified
5) Modularity (or the lack of it)