Time for some Popcorn Hour?

Quad Master said:
Popcorn look perfect with the features , but howz the build quality and the components.

Hope its long lasting.

build quality is decent. definitely not the most expensive looking, but it's not an eyesore either ;)

can't comment on the quality of the components though since i'm no electrical engineer.. but judging by comments from users who have received their units, have not come across anyone with hardware failure or dud units yet :)

As far as i know the only disadvantage of popcorn hour is currently dolby digital and DTS are in pass through mode and it can't decode these audio encodes. Most of the mkv movies have audio in these formats....
So you'd need another decoder (??) to decode these streams so that they can play on your speakers. How are u managing that?
Also no support for 5.1! Just stereo analog audio....
Could you elaborate on mkv playing? No need of decoding? is that right! Just off the shelf mkv files having mp4 video and ac3 audio won't work....it needs to have both mp4 avc video and mp4 aac audio in mkv to work....your opinions?

awesome ...buy. man ..this thing is der on ma wish list now ...!!

by da way can u tell me how u stream videos from ur PC to the player ??is it done wirelessly ?..if possible please explain in brief ?

rPOk said:
As far as i know the only disadvantage of popcorn hour is currently dolby digital and DTS are in pass through mode and it can't decode these audio encodes. Most of the mkv movies have audio in these formats....
So you'd need another decoder (??) to decode these streams so that they can play on your speakers. How are u managing that?
Also no support for 5.1! Just stereo analog audio....
Could you elaborate on mkv playing? No need of decoding? is that right! Just off the shelf mkv files having mp4 video and ac3 audio won't work....it needs to have both mp4 avc video and mp4 aac audio in mkv to work....your opinions?