Very slow speeds with JioFi - only during the day.

PoBoy

Skilled
I've been using JioFi for about 4 years now. Day time speeds were not great but OK.
For the past month or so it is almost unusable during the day time, say, 10am to 7pm. Speeds are like 10KB/s to 30KB/s. Sometimes zero.
- only recently. only day time.
- OK on Sundays.
- I've checked with more than PC and mobile phone so the prob is not on my side.

What can I do ? I've e-mailed Jio, no response.
To chat with Jio customer service I have to enter my Jio number and they send a OTP by SMS to the Jio number. Since I use JioFi I cannot see the SMS. So I cannot chat with the Jio customer service.

btw, if I switch off the JioFi and then switch it on, speeds are OK for a short time and then falls off.

Looks like JioFi doesn't provide bandwidth on 1:1 basis. They are sharing mainline bandwidth between a lot many users. There's a name for this which I can't recall right now. It used to be a thing long time ago. In short, Jio might have 1 gigabit line coming in your area/building and it's then branched into 100 users who are promised 100mbps bandwidth. So that's like 1:10 ratio. Catch is, Jio doesn't expect everyone in your area start using their internet bandwidth 100% at the same time.

There's only one solution that I know of and have had to use it myself several times in the past. That solution is to change your ISP. Kick the Jio and get something else.
Don't bother wasting your time finding a solution, because I have wasted mine in the past. Jio isn't going to help you. They have signed up way too many customers than they can handle.

I didn't expect this bandwidth sharing happening in present. Today, if ISP is promising 100mbps then you get 100mbps 24x7 no matter what. This is been standard from many years now.

I used Twitter @JioCare . Received a service request number via SMS. Update by 17th it says. Lets see.

I had to DM my contact details etc.