Apple TV 4K experience?

renegade

Staff member
Super Mod
Dec 31, 2004
Pune
Anyone using the Apple TV HD or 4K version? How has been the experience and long term usage feedback. Is the storage used for anything else besides the app? If not then whats the use for a 64GB version.

Edit - Most importantly, can we connect 2 bluetooth earphones and push audio on both simultaneously?

superczar

Skilled
Mar 17, 2005
Anyone using the Apple TV HD or 4K version? How has been the experience and long term usage feedback. Is the storage used for anything else besides the app? If not then whats the use for a 64GB version.

Edit - Most importantly, can we connect 2 bluetooth earphones and push audio on both simultaneously?
Unless you want to stuff it with games, just get the 32GB variant

I have been using both the ATV HD and ATV4K for the past many years
Both are significantly faster than any streamer - and I have tried several

It is by far the best streamer I have used and I won't switch from it to any other option available currently.
However, I won't still recommend it to most users unless 2 or more of the below is true:

a) You need proper ATMOS support for Netflix and Prime ...This alone makes it worth the price to me at least but it may be non consequential to many
b) You use AirPods - in which case audio switches seamlessly between phone/ tab/ laptop/ TV + audio can be shared between two pairs - and while I have tried non AirPods BT headsets (which obviously works fine for 1 pair), I don't think audio sharing works with other BT headsets
c) You want the convenience of having the remote available directly within your iPhone swipe down menu

If not for the above , the 3X premium over say fire stick 4K is not worth it just for the faster UI

PS: I feel (but this is subjective) that the ATV does a better job at rendering HDR over the fire stick and in general runs more stable than FS (which itself is very stable esp compared to bug fest boxes like Mi 4k)

Last edited: