Audio Sound card comparision:

jugaad1

Disciple
Here is a comparision of Creative sound cards:
I compared these four: Creative x-fi Titanium, Fatal1ty, fatal1ty champion, x-fi xtreme audio.
Creative Sound Blaster - Product Comparison Results

Now, i'm a total noobie as far as Sound cards are concerned.
My question is - for movies, and audio, which sound card should I be looking at ?
I need some decent Surround sound capabilities; my HT supports Dolby Digital EX and Dolby ProLogic ; and DTS thru optical, Coax.

I was thinking , would any mobo that has an optical out sufficient for me, or should i be looking at a specific sound card that supports Dolby Live encoding : Like the x-fi Titanium ?

:huh:
About my RIG : : I drive a 5.1 HT: Jamo S406+Sub package (165 w per channel + 230w for sub, I think)
I bought a "Wansa" amp,because of limited budget , is powerful enough to drive these speakers. Wansa was a in-store brand for xcite stores, which is now called - the electronic store .
the Amp supports Dolby Digital, and PL2 ; and DTS.
I bought both together almost a year ago.

Out of all the above, X-fi titanium is more than sufficient for your need.
If you are planning to use optical cable then I don't think the internal circuitry of your sound card is of any use. Onboard is equally capable.
Other pls correct if I am wrong.

^^ If that's the case, what abt realtime dolby Live encoding ? does that make your Games and Audio sound better ? Does that give a 5.1 to your movies which have Stereo sound ?

For encoding you have to go to a card that has DD Live! or DTS connect (I forget the name of the spec).

The Xonar DX has DD Live! and an optical output, it should be sufficient for what you need. For DTS connect you need to go all the way up to the Xonar D2/D2X. Neither these nor the STX are 'professional grade' but good enough to get the job done.