Audio Time for an IEM upgrade. Head-Direct REZERO, RE0, or RE262, or Shure SE530?

sa_ill

Disciple
Oct 21, 2009
Hey all.

I've been using my Shure E5C for the past 4 years (bought them from the US for $600 in 2006!) and I'm absolutely attached to them. They've served me long. Their sound kept improving with age and everything I listen to is more of a spiritual experience albeit a musical one.

Now, the left earphone wire has clipped internally. It does work sometimes but then again some jerk messes it up. Considering the amount of abuse they have taken, they've still worked great. The E5Cs have made me a Shure loyalist.

Anyway, since I'm out of the warranty period and am on my upgrade cycle, I'm considering the following cans:

Head-Direct RE0 or RE-ZERO: never heard about this brand but noticed they're creating a lot of buzz and they need to be amped. I've never ever amped a can so I want people to share their experiences with being on the move and amping. I travel a lot, I mean, ALOT! Lynx-India is charging Rs. 4175 for the RE0 and Rs. 5315 for RE-ZERO.

Shure SE530 Again, this goes for my loyalty to Shure and how they make cans which are built to last, and keep getting better with age. But, they cost a lot. Lynx is chargind Rs. 32,000/- but I can get it from the US for $400/-. They dont need to be amped. I dont mind buying the Shures, but the Head-Direct are priced amazingly and sound attractive.

Head-Direct RE262 Costs 13,086/- from Lynx-India. Now, heres the dilemma: Should I dish out this much for the RE262? Also, do I need to amp them? If so, what amp should I use? Will a FiiO E7 suffice? Also, I really cant understand the difference in SQ between the RE0 and RE262. Is the exorbitant price difference justified?

I have made my mind that if I cant make my mind I'll buy the Se530's with my eyes shut, but again, the value for money that the Head-Direct cans are offering is very very attractive.