2 Cables or 1 Cable With A Switch

zero_cool

Disciple
I have limited experience in home networking and wanted to the most efficient way to solve my connection needs.

I have placed the router along with the fiber optic box in the living room but my workstation (laptop and monitors) as well as gaming desktop is in the bedroom. Since the range from the main setup wasn't strong and inconsistent, I created an access point in room by running a cable from the router but now, I had to reevaluate my connection setup as the download speeds and latency on the desktop aren't the best.

To counter it, I have two options; First, run a second cable parallel to the first one and plug it in my desktop and leave the other one in the access point as it is now. Second, plug the existing cable in a gigabit switch and branch two cables, one to the access point and other to the desktop.

The latter is more convenient but I want to know what are the downsides to such a setup apart from the extra hardware? Will I get the same speed and latency as I would've directly connect to the router or will there be a drop in speeds if I use both the access point for WIFI data consumption and the desktop as well? My internet speed is 300 MBPS, I will use at CAT 6 cable for a length of 25 meters.

It would help to know what gear you are using.
How fast is ur net connection 100Mbs+?
Are both the routers gigabit ?
Are you using wire or wireless on laptop?

Assuming you have both identical routers and good quality CAT6 wire which has been crimped properly and is away from sources of electro magnetic inteference, like electrical wires, a/c, microwave etc... and the run of wire is less than 90meters, then there is no reason you should get slower speed on the second router in the bedroom.

Have you checked the wire with a proper line tester and does the pc show a 1Gbps link speed? Poor wiring **will** deliver poor performance even if you have a the best router, so i would check the wire closely.