Car & Bike Another small car thread

sarang

Skilled
Want to buy a small car with following requirements:
1. Monthly run: 1200 KM
2. Budgest: ~5 (Can stretch a little but strictly below 6)
3. Will mostly be used for city commute little highway travel.
4. Driving experience: 6 months.
5. Location: Pune
6. Test rides done so far: None
7. Buying time frame: July first half
8. Feature preference: Power windows, Power steering, drive quality.
9. Decent FE in city conditions is essential.
10. Avid Car AC user.
11. Brand preference: Maruti, Hyundai, Fiat in that order

I am a totally n00b driver and will be using the car strictly commuting to drop spouse move to my office pick spouse back home routines, till I can afford a separate car for her (Another 3 years).

Looking for inputs around what to buy what are the features that one must look at, what cars fair well in the longer run, and whatever gyaan i can digest before I make my purchase.

Will be TDing the Ritz this week, this will be my first TD ever so kindly advice what to look for.

try reversing, taking the car through cramped roads etc. any n00b can be a hero and drive a car around on a road, its parking, maneuvering & reversing which takes skillz :p

Your options are plenty in this segment. Considering your requirements, you should be checking out Ritz, Swift, Beat, i10, i20.

Beat is an excellent VFM car with very good FE, and futuristic looks (subjective) and probably the only car offerring Automatic Climate Control at this price. You can get the fully loaded Beat LT option for just above 5 lac onroad. i20 would be a good buy too, though slightly expensive.

If you can stretch it slightly above 6 lacs, get the i20 or else get the fully loaded Beat at a great price.

You've 8 cars in this segment, apart from the above 5 I mentioned, you have Figo, Punto as well as Polo. Test drive all of them and see which one you're most comfortable with.