Anyone here studying at or know about 'IIIT' colleges ?

avi

Skilled
I am considering colleges which accept without GATE for MTech / MS by Research / PhD programmes. I found out about IIIT colleges, they have their own entrance examinations.

Notice that it is not IIT, it's IIIT - International Institute of Information Technology.

http://www.iiit.ac.in/

Also if you know any colleges which accept without GATE score, please reply here. Thank you !

Don't know about the IIIT-H but some of my friends completed PG-Diploma course from IIIT-Banglorer and are placed in well known IT companies,that course is no longer offered by the institute but surely their M-Tech course will also provide better job prospects..

for more details about IIIT-B you can visit http://www.iiitb.ac.in/

I graduated out of IIIT-H. Completed an MS by Research after a B-Tech. The MS was fully funded by the university and I didn't even have to shell out a penny. In fact I got a stipend too. After my masters, I was placed in Microsoft Research in Bangalore.

Word of advice - this is probably one of the best places in India if you want to do real academic research - especially in the fields of Computer Graphics/Vision/Machine Learning/Distributed Databases/Language Technologies. This is not your usual term paper publishing as seen in most places - this is proper, serious stuff which gets published in top conferences/journals in the world. It is not easy, but if you are keen on doing something out of the ordinary, there are few places that are better, especially in India. This is true of the MS/PhD programs.

The MTech program is more course oriented and doesn't involve much research. Its more of a do your courses, get your grades, get a job type of program.

#tech_bot - Well I needed info someone who actually studied from there, but thanks for replying !