Beginner wants to get involved in some Open Source project

H2O

Skilled
I am a 2nd year student and will be applying for GSOC this time, before I actually apply I wanted to get a little hands-on experience on how it is like working on an open source project.

I have checked out git, sourceforge and some other places. But, I'm still not sure about how I should get involved in minor bux fixing/how can I access the source/etc.

I'm comfortable working with C, C++ and Java and am ready to put in the effort it takes to learn those things which I do not know. So, if someone could guide me in the right direction it would be really helpful.

Thanks,

H2O

Start by picking a project that actually interests you. Unless you actually use the software, you'll be lost for a while.

Look up bug reports and outstanding issues. Start following their mailing lists, also posting to them as well.

Eventually, you'll come across something you can contribute to. Create a patch and submit it to the mailing list, from where it will get tested and possibly accepted.

It's gonna take a while though, the whole process.

1) Start with a simple, small sized project. Understanding code that you didn't right is difficult and takes time.

2) Read up on documentation, bug reports, mailing lists, etc

3) Easiest is to contribute to documentation once you understand the software

4) Try to replicate bugs, and to diagnose the problem (use logging or debugging tools)

5) Recommend new features, and contribute patches

I'd recommend starting off with a Github hosted project as there is extensive support for popular projects and you can also learn to deal with Git which does have a steep learning curve.

I am a 2nd year student and will be applying for GSOC this time, before I actually apply I wanted to get a little hands-on experience on how it is like working on an open source project.