Best OS bootable from pen drive

flash23

Adept
My friend's only HDD has gone kaput and needs to be sent for RMA. He has an external 320gb hdd and a 4gb pendrive.

Since installing OS into external HDD is PITA I thought the best way is to boot from the pendrive.

I first thought about Chrome OS, the image from Hexxah, but I since its a cloud based OS wont it affect the normal working in absence of an internet connection. So I want to know the best OS that can boot from a 4gig pendrive, preferably a standalone OS which can perform the basic tasks of browsing, media player, etc.

Any idea about Knoppix??

He has to use this method until the rmaed drive returns ie about a month.

Thanks

i am still using linuxMint 10. now i can access Internet for another system using that. (no fear for keyloggers, etc.)

#[member='thatsashok'] Is this the procedure you followed http://puppylinux.org/wikka/InstallationFrugal

Seems a bit complicated. i have no experience of working on Linux. Can this be created from a Win 7 based PC?

#[member='CA50'] the boot drive should be the pendrive(4gb) not the install media.

Also I think Mint requires a proper internal HDD to be installed.

#CA50 If I am getting this right, using Yumi I can make a plug-n-play type of OS. Am I correct?

Also which distro is more user friendly for a complete n00b, the OS will be used used only for basic tasks like browsing, media.

Also can open office/ MS office be used in this condition?

^ yes mate you can use it, you can select ubuntu

Ye mate you can use it to ope office files, play music, browse net etc.etc.

I would recommend Mint because of its simplicity and ability to play different multimedia formats which aren't generally supported by most distros.

Get any one- linux mint, ubuntu or fedora.

I believe you can create a live USB with the ability to store files and settings using universal usb installer.