Camera Canon 550D + which lens for 50k?

Shakensoul

Skilled
I think its time to take my photography hobby more seriously and upskill myself. :D

Have been using a Canon S3 IS since the last 5 years and did not regret one moment, infact enjoying every click I have taken except in low light conditions.

So am deciding to stay a loyal customer and be a canon fanboy again. After reading numerous reviews and post, have shortlisted the Canon 550D as my next upgrade. I am still learning the terminology of the SLR world, learning f-stops and mms, so still a very noob at this stage. But I definitely love clicking and capturing and think that I will be able to do a good job with a decent camera and lens.

After reading around a bit, the general opinion about the kit lens is not too great. Some have suggested that its good enough for the starters and will serve the purpose. So my plan is to get an upgraded walkaround lens kit along with the 550d. I will generally click potraits, landscapes, family events and the usual stuff. Indoor and low light performance should be good.

I will be getting a seperate telephoto lens in the future, something like Canon EF-S 55-250mm.

So please recommend a good allround lens for about total 50k including the body, IS is required.

Thanks a lot. :thumb:

The price for the Tamron 17-50/2.8 non VC version hovers around 25k, and the VC version is around 40k+ looking at ebay prices :(

And there are mixed reviews on the tamron.

BTW I am also planning to get the Canon EF 50mm F1.8 II separately for low light and indoor clicks.

50mm F 1.8 / 55-250mm price have increased , so if you find them get hold now .

meanwhile 18-135mm price decreased almost 7-8k :ashamed:

instead of 55-250, get the 70-300mm and get a canon lens. Canon lens are argubaly much better than 3rd party lens. the 70-300mm lens is supposed to be the successor of 75-300mm lens and is considered to be worth much more its price. you can get it for 35-39k I guess.