Camera Claiming warranty on canon camera

cybertragic

Disciple
I had purchased a Canon camera IXUS 860IS at Alfa in Mumbai about 6 months back. Since I'm not from Mumbai, I had only heard that Alfa has great prices and had no idea that Alfa sells Grey Market stuff. So I got a dsrelative from Mumbai to purchase it before he was coming to my town.

It was only then I came to know that the camera has come without bill and warranty.

Now, yesterday while clicking some photographs in a dusty construction location,my camera's lense got spoilt and is not going fully inside anymore. After googling, I came to know this is a common problem with Canon and I should bang it against the table while switching on and off and it will become normal again. Most people had done this and succeeded. But after I banged it several times, instead of the lens becoming normal, the LCD also went kaput.

I want to get this repaired under warranty as it has been less than 6 months since I have purchased it. When I enter the serial number on the internet, it says that the camera has been purchased in Singapore.

I called Canon India customer care and told them I had purchased this camera in singapore and have lost the bill and warranty papers, but they told me that only for cameras purchased in india, papers are not needed and serial number is enough. For international purchases I will have to present the bill or warranty papers.

This camera had cost me Rs. 15000 and I can't just throw it away. Is there any way to get it repaired through Canon or a third party without running a huge repair bill. Any suggestions?

Just go to a repair shop and see whether they can fix the cam. If not, try the Canon support number and tell them that you've been gifted this cam, so are not sure of the warranty info and the source of procurement. They may guide you with the same.