Defy update finally?

piyush_888

Disciple
Hi guys,

I had subscribed to this thread on Motorola support forum . https://supportforums.motorola.com/message/387744#387744

It says that Singapore retail has been added. What does that mean? Will it work for India too? Why do they need different updates for different countries? Sorry, I am a newbie to all this.

--- Updated Post - Automerged ---

my bad... won't work in India. But, I would still appreciate someone explaining to me why different updates for different countries?

Update : Froyo IS in fact available in India now and makes the pone sexy as hell.

Any idea when it willl be available in India?

Got Defy last week, just because i was told that the update will be there soon.

wait... if this is official why do I have to do all this rooting and flashing business? Shouldn't the official update be something like click ->BAM!

Please pardon my ignorance with these things.

The India update will come around soon .. or if possible try out the Fixed SBFs over at XDA.

Make sure you choose the one with the correct Baseband ..

From the thread at Moto Supportforums

Note to Singapore/Asia customers:

As several regions might share the same software version, please check your phone's APFlex version and compare it to the source versions in the original posting to see if your DEFY can be upgraded.

Note to Singapore/Asia customers:

As several regions might share the same software version, please check your phone's APFlex version and compare it to the source versions in the original posting to see if your DEFY can be upgraded.

What does this mean. I am so lost in these high tech android/smartphone jargon.

the 2.2 update for the Motorola Defy has been officially released.

[Flash SBF] OFFICIAL RELEASE | Android Froyo 2.2.2 [SOUTH EAST ASIA] 3.4.3-361 - xda-developers

here is the Exact text in the pdf that was released from Moto..

Software Upgrade for Motorola DEFYâ„¢ (JEM_3.4.3)