Car & Bike First time biker ...How do I go about it?

eggman

Adept
Hi Guys

Here's my situation.

->My friends have taught me how to ride bikes , so I have some experience of how to ride one. But no road experience and it was 2 years ago.

So anyway, I've enrolled into a driving school.
It's a 10 hours course , so by the end of it I think I should get some hang of it.

How do I go about it after the course?

-> Which bike should I buy, something which is easier for first time rider?
I don't wanna buy a 2nd hand.

-> I'll be getting my LL tomorrow.
When should I buy a bike?
After the course, or should I go ahead and book one now?

->How do I practice after the course?
It's not possible for me to get a pavilion rider with DL .
Is it safe to practice in roads, and avoid the main road?

-> I know it's subjective, but how hard is the leaning curve(no pun intended)?
How many hours should one practice before he is confident of riding in main traffic, specially Bangalore traffic.

Thanks for your inputs.

My first bike is Pulsar P220 and I learnt to ride on it... Just for a night got my friends pulsar 180 to practice gear n clutch engagement and from the next day started practicing on my bike (Inside society premises ha)... Used to drive Dio before...

Just practice it for few days by yourself and you'll be good to go; just keep tab on speed... I took it out in city after 15 days !

I feel bikes with better handling are infact quicker to learn compared to 100-125cc class...

If your budget permits, look out for R15 / KTM Duke... Light n quick !

I had the same trouble exactly 4 years ago. I was a total n00b about bikes and still I ordered a FZ16. :p
My friend told me the basics - and I took the bike to the highway in early morning for 7/8 days before I was confident enough to go to city traffic.
(btw, I was in Mysore those days and traffic there is minimal)

So, don't worry dude - if you know how to brake you are fine to go. :)